HVAC License Certification in Mississippi
If you live or planning to live in Mississippi and you want to pursue a career in HVAC, this page will provide you information on how to obtain your HVAC license in Mississippi. There are good opportunities waiting for those who are interested in working as HVAC tech in Mississippi. It is said that the average earning potential for HVAC techs working on this state is $ 44, 000. HVAC licensing in Mississippi is regulated by the Mississippi State Board of Contractors. As of the moment, the state of Mississippi does not require continuing education for HVAC license.
In terms of state to state reciprocity, the state of Mississippi has a reciprocity agreement with the state of Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Tennessee, and South Carolina. The implication of this reciprocity agreement is that once you are already licensed with at least one of those aforementioned states, you can already obtain the license to work in Mississippi without repeating the same testing and licensing process. Before this agreement to take effect, you must have held a license on at least one of the aforementioned states for at least 3 consecutive years.
HVAC License Exam Requirements
Before taking the HVAC license examination, you have to make sure that you have a pre-approval to sit for the exam from the state of Mississippi since it is the only entity that can decide whether you are qualified to take a certain exam or not. Another important thing you must remember is aside from passing the trade examination, you must also pass the Business and Law Management examination. The Board does expect applicants to have experience in the area(s) in which you wish to be licensed and be able to document the experience on your application. Aside from that, you must pay a license fee of $200 and $50 each for any additional classifications obtained. Additionally, applications will be reviewed for approval for testing as soon as they are received. After passing the exams, the applicant must submit a completed application to the Board for review. Completed applications must be submitted at least 30 days before the next scheduled meeting to be reviewed at that meeting. The Board meets 4 times each year in January, April, July, and October.
HVAC License Examination
The examination fee is $75 and you need to reach at least 70% score to pass the examination. Included topics on the exam are the following: piping; insulation; hangers and supports; sound, vibration and seismic control; heating and cooling principles; refrigerants and refrigeration; load calculations; testing, adjusting and balancing; controls; A/C and heat pump equipment; furnaces and heaters; chimneys, flues and vents; combustion air; fuel gas systems; LP gas systems; ducts; boilers and hydronics; machine room; evaporative cooling; and safety.
To make yourself prepared for the examination you can utilize reference books recommended by the Boards such as 2006 International Mechanical Code, 2006 International Fuel Gas Code, OSHA Code of Federal Regulations Part 1926, Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning and ACCA Ductulator. Also, there is available review training online that costs around $150 which takes you through each one of the reference books that the exam is based on showing you exactly what to highlight. Aside from that, there is an extensive math analysis portion.
To schedule your exam, you must first obtain pre-approval from the board. Then, contact PSI at 1-800-733-9267. American Contractors does not offer a seminar to prepare you for the Mississippi HVAC contractor license exam. However, we do offer a 2-hour seminar to prepare you for the required Business and Law Management exam. Please contact us for additional information, 1-800-992-1910.